参与其中

由于阿片类药物的流行继续影响着斯诺霍米什县的家庭、社区和社区,很难知道如何帮助他人或在哪里参与。在我们共同抗击这一流行病的过程中,这里有一些资源和想法可以帮助您确保您的社区安全。

拿起一个针头清洁工具包

遗留在公共和私人场所的用过的针头既是麻烦事,也是潜在的安全隐患。无论它们是用于注射胰岛素等药物还是海洛因等非法药物,如果被发现躺在地上,用过的针头都可能存在潜在危险。

虽然因针刺伤感染丙型肝炎等疾病的风险很低,但您可以通过使用正确的设备和清理程序进一步降低这种风险。同样重要的是要教导孩子不要捡起地上发现的针头,并立即向可信赖的成年人报告。

免费的针头清洁工具包和下车地点 在这个网站上列出.

锁定你的药物

美国所有与阿片类药物相关的死亡中有一半涉及处方阿片类药物。如果你家里有药物——无论是医生开的还是非处方药——把它们锁起来。

报告令人讨厌的属性

滋扰财产构成公共安全风险,并可能通过不受控制的犯罪活动影响社区财产价值,并违反县和斯诺霍米什卫生区的法规。这些财产也吸引了擅自占地者和犯罪行为,例如吸毒和/或贩卖毒品、卖淫、存放被盗财产和车辆、占用房车或其他不允许居住的结构等等。要报告滋扰财产,请致电斯诺霍米什县治安官办公室非紧急热线 425-407-3999。你也可以投诉 通过 Snohomish Health District 在线 或发送电子邮件至 swtquestions@snohd.org。

与您的信仰领袖交谈

当地信仰社区有慈善和非营利实体,为弱势群体提供服务和外展服务,包括那些患有物质使用障碍或无家可归的人。其中一些包括:

  • 华盛顿西北部宗教间协会
  • 救世军
  • 慈悲观察
  • 西北路德会社区服务
  • 天主教社区服务

与社区联盟联系

成功解决任何社区范围内的问题的关键是参与和伙伴关系。斯诺霍米什县的几个公共机构现有社区联盟,这些联盟定期开会并参与应对我们的邻居、朋友和家人面临的挑战。以下不是完整列表,但包括专注于预防/干预、特定社区或不良童年经历 (ACE) 的联盟:

危机支持志愿者

考虑积极与提供支持和外展服务的机构合作。 斯诺霍米什县联合之路 拥有数十个志愿者机会,包括担任 2-1-1 接线员,可以将有需要的人与我们社区中经过审查的健康和人类服务联系起来。

分享你的故事

如果您或您所爱的人曾与成瘾作斗争,请考虑 分享你的故事。 使用物质或对物质上瘾的人长期以来一直受到污名化。分享您的故事可以帮助将物质使用障碍作为一种可治疗疾病的讨论正常化,并帮助社区成员减少孤独感。

Get Involved

As the opioid epidemic devastates families, neighborhoods, and communities in Snohomish County, it’s difficult to know how to aid others or where to get involved. Here are a few resources and ideas that can help you keep your neighborhood safe as we fight the epidemic together.

Pick up a Needle Clean-Up Kit

Used needles left in public and private places are both a nuisance and a potential safety concern. Regardless of whether they’re used to inject medicine like insulin or an illegal drug like heroin, a used needle can be potentially dangerous if found lying on the ground.

While the risk of contracting a disease like Hepatitis C from a needle-stick injury is low, you can further reduce that risk by using the right equipment and clean-up procedures. It’s also important to teach children to never pick up needles found on the ground and to report them immediately to a trusted adult.

Free needle clean-up kits and drop-off location are listed on this website.

Lock Up Your Meds

Half of all opioid-related deaths in the U.S. involve a prescription opioid. If you have medication in your home — whether they are prescribed by a doctor or over-the-counter — lock them up.

Report Nuisance Properties

Nuisance properties pose a public safety risk and can potentially impact neighborhood property values by unchecked criminal activity as well as violate county and Snohomish Health District codes. These properties are also magnets for squatters and criminal behavior, such as drug use and/or trafficking, prostitution, storage of stolen property and vehicles, occupation of RVs or other structures not permitted for residence, and more. To report a nuisance property, call the Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office non-emergency line at 425-407-3999. You can also file a complaint through the Snohomish Health District online or by email swtquestions@snohd.org.

Talk to Your Faith Leader

Local faith communities have charity and non-profit entities that provide services and outreach to vulnerable populations, including those who struggle with addiction and/or homelessness. Some of these include:

  • The Interfaith Association of Northwest Washington
  • Salvation Army
  • MercyWatch
  • Lutheran Community Services Northwest
  • Catholic Community Services

Connect With a Community Coalition

The key to success in tackling any community-wide problem is involvement and partnerships. Several public agencies in Snohomish County have existing community coalitions that meet regularly and are engaged in the challenges our neighbors, friends and families face. The following is not a complete list, but includes coalitions that focus on prevention/intervention, a specific community, or Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs):

  • Monroe Community Coalition
  • Marysville Together Coalition
  • Darrington Prevention Intervention Community Coalition
  • Granite Falls Community Coalition
  • Snohomish County Children’s Wellness Coaltion
  • Casino Road Stakeholders
  • ACEs Quarterly/NEAR Collaborative
  • Children’s Commission

Volunteer for Crisis Support

Consider actively engaging with agencies providing support and outreach. United way of Snohomish County has dozens of volunteer opportunities, including serving as a 2-1-1 operator who can connect people in need to vetted health and human services in our community.

Share Your Story

If you or someone you love has struggled with addiction, consider sharing your story. Drug users and addicts have long been stigmatized. Until people in the community begin to see themselves (or their sisters, brothers, daughters, sons, and spouses) in the problem and addiction is viewed as a disease, rather than a moral failing, we will never win the battle.