结束污名及其重要性

什么是耻辱?

污名使人们相信某些个人特征或人是坏的、危险的或软弱的,并使人的经历无效。污名保留了刻板印象、偏见和歧视,这些会影响一个人的心理健康,进而影响他们的康复之路(1).

四种污名

公众污名: 当公众对特定人群(患有物质使用障碍的人)持有歧视性和偏见性信念时。公共污名给人们制造障碍,阻碍他们获得住房、食物、教育和就业(1).

结构性污名: 是限制遭受耻辱的群体机会的政策和机构的行动。机会或权利的限制可能是有意或无意的(1).

自我污名: 是来自受污名化群体的人将公众或机构传播的刻板印象或偏见内化。自我污名会阻止一个人寻求医疗保健服务,并可能导致一个人因羞耻或尴尬而隐藏自己的诊断,这可能导致孤立和缺乏社会支持。1).

多重污名: 是当一个人遭受上述不止一个类别的污名时。认识到物质使用障碍也很重要,人们还因他们持有的其他身份(无家可归、贫困、精神疾病等)而面临耻辱。所有这些都可能加重健康后果,需要得到承认(1).

为什么污名很重要?

污名会造成影响一个人的治疗和康复的障碍。污名会影响所有治疗领域,包括(1):

  • 接受治疗
  • 治疗类型的选择
  • 维持治疗。

人们可能会避免接受物质使用障碍的诊断,以防止自己遭受公众耻辱(1).

污名还可以阻止一个人为他们选择最佳治疗方案。

药物辅助治疗是强烈推荐的物质使用障碍治疗形式(2)。选择药物辅助治疗的人参加咨询会议并服用美沙酮或丁丙诺啡。美沙酮和丁丙诺啡是减少对阿片类药物的渴望并帮助缓解戒断症状的药物。这有助于人们继续接受治疗(2)。围绕使用药物来帮助恢复阿片类药物使用障碍 (OUD) 存在耻辱感,无论其有效性如何。这种耻辱使患者无法接受最佳治疗选择。

语言问题

语言是一种强大的框架工具,可以塑造公众和个人对物质使用(或任何其他类别)的看法。当我们将语言改为非污名化评论时,我们就可以开始改变公众和个人的意见,这有助于减少人们在开始或继续通过治疗康复时遇到的障碍。

参考

  1. Wogen, J. 和 Restrepo, MT(2020 年 6 月)。 人权、污名和物质使用.健康与人权杂志。检索于 2021 年 9 月 21 日,来自 https://www.hhrjournal.org/2020/06/human-rights-stigma-and-substance-use/。

2. 药物辅助治疗 (MAT).萨姆萨。 (2021 年 9 月 16 日)。检索于 2021 年 9 月 21 日,来自 https://www.samhsa.gov/medication-assisted-treatment。

Ending the Stigma and Why it is Important

What is Stigma?

Stigma creates the belief that certain personal characteristics or people are bad, dangerous, or weak and invalidates the person’s experiences. Stigma preserves stereotypes, prejudice, and discrimination which can impact a person’s mental health, and in turn, their path to recovery (1).

Four types of Stigma

Public Stigma

When the public holds discriminatory and prejudicial beliefs towards a specific group of people—people with substance use disorder. Public stigma creates barriers for people, preventing them from accessing housing, food, education, employment (1).

Structural Stigma

The policies and the actions of institutions limit the opportunities of groups experiencing stigma. Limitations of opportunities, or rights, can be intentional or unintentional (1).

Self-Stigma

When a person from a stigmatized group internalizes the stereotype or prejudice that is spread by the public or institutions. Self-stigma can prevent a person from seeking health care services and may cause a person to hide their diagnosis out of shame or embarrassment, which can lead to isolation and a lack of social support (1).

Multiple stigma

When a person experiences stigma from more than one category above. It also important to recognize that with substance use disorder, people also face stigma through other identities they hold (houselessness, poverty, mental illness, etc.). All of these can compound to worsen health consequences and need to be recognized (1).

Why Does Stigma Matter?

Stigma creates barriers that affect a person’s treatment and recovery. Stigma can impact all realms of treatment, including (1):

  • accessing treatment
  • choice of treatment type
  • maintaining treatment.

People may avoid receiving a diagnosis of substance use disorder to prevent themselves from experiencing public stigma (1).

Stigma can also prevent a person from choosing the best treatment option for them.

Medication- assisted treatment is a highly recommended form of treatment for substance use disorder (2). People who choose medication-assisted treatment attend counseling sessions and take methadone or buprenorphine. Methadone and buprenorphine are medications that reduce cravings for opioids and help with withdrawal symptoms. This helps people to stay in treatment (2). There is stigma surrounding the use of medication to aid in the recovery of opioid use disorder (OUD) regardless of its proven effectiveness. This stigma prevents patients from receiving the best treatment option for them.

Language Matters

Language is a powerful framing tool to shape the public and individual opinions of substance use (or any other category). When we change our language to non-stigmatizing comments then we can begin to change the opinion of the public and individuals, which helps decrease barriers people experience when beginning or continuing their road to recovery through treatment.

References
  1. Wogen, J., & Restrepo, M. T. (2020, June). Human rights, stigma, and substance use. Health and Human Rights Journal. Retrieved September 21, 2021, from https://www.hhrjournal.org/2020/06/human-rights-stigma-and-substance-use/.

2. Medication-assisted treatment (MAT). SAMHSA. (2021, September 16). Retrieved September 21, 2021, from https://www.samhsa.gov/medication-assisted-treatment.