إنهاء وصمة العار وسبب أهميتها

ما هي وصمة العار؟

تخلق الوصمة الاعتقاد بأن بعض السمات الشخصية أو الأشخاص سيئون أو خطرين أو ضعفاء وتبطل تجارب الشخص. تحافظ وصمة العار على الصور النمطية والتحيز والتمييز التي يمكن أن تؤثر على الصحة العقلية للشخص ، وبالتالي على طريقه إلى التعافي (1).

أربعة أنواع من وصمة العار

وصمة العار العامة

عندما يحمل الجمهور معتقدات تمييزية وضارة تجاه مجموعة معينة من الأشخاص - الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطراب تعاطي المخدرات. تخلق الوصمة العامة حواجز أمام الناس، وتمنعهم من الحصول على السكن والغذاء والتعليم والعمل (1).

وصمة العار الهيكلية

وتحد سياسات وإجراءات المؤسسات من فرص المجموعات التي تعاني من الوصمة. يمكن أن تكون القيود على الفرص أو الحقوق مقصودة أو غير مقصودة (1).

وصمة العار الذاتية

عندما يستوعب شخص من مجموعة موصومة الصورة النمطية أو التحيز الذي ينشره الجمهور أو المؤسسات. يمكن للوصم الذاتي أن يمنع الشخص من طلب خدمات الرعاية الصحية وقد يتسبب في إخفاء تشخيصه بسبب الخجل أو الإحراج، مما قد يؤدي إلى العزلة ونقص الدعم الاجتماعي (1).

وصمة عار متعددة

عندما يتعرض الشخص لوصمة عار من أكثر من فئة واحدة أعلاه. من المهم أيضًا أن ندرك أنه في حالة اضطراب تعاطي المخدرات، يواجه الأشخاص أيضًا وصمة العار من خلال الهويات الأخرى التي يحملونها (التشرد، والفقر، والأمراض العقلية، وما إلى ذلك). كل هذه الأمور يمكن أن تتفاقم لتتفاقم العواقب الصحية ويجب الاعتراف بها (1).

لماذا الوصمة مهمة؟

تخلق وصمة العار حواجز تؤثر على علاج الشخص وشفائه. يمكن أن تؤثر وصمة العار على جميع مجالات العلاج ، بما في ذلك (1):

  • الحصول على العلاج
  • اختيار نوع العلاج
  • الحفاظ على العلاج.

قد يتجنب الأشخاص تشخيص اضطراب تعاطي المخدرات لمنع أنفسهم من التعرض لوصمة العار العامة (1).

يمكن للوصمة أيضًا أن تمنع الشخص من اختيار أفضل خيار علاجي له.

العلاج الدوائي هو شكل من أشكال العلاج الموصى به بشدة لاضطراب تعاطي المخدرات (2). يحضر الأشخاص الذين يختارون العلاج بمساعدة الأدوية جلسات الاستشارة ويتناولون الميثادون أو البوبرينورفين. الميثادون والبوبرينورفين من الأدوية التي تقلل الرغبة الشديدة في تناول المواد الأفيونية وتساعد في أعراض الانسحاب. هذا يساعد الناس على البقاء في العلاج (2). هناك وصمة عار تحيط باستخدام الأدوية للمساعدة في التعافي من اضطراب استخدام المواد الأفيونية (OUD) بغض النظر عن فعاليتها المثبتة. هذه الوصمة تمنع المرضى من الحصول على أفضل خيار علاجي لهم.

مسائل اللغة

اللغة هي أداة تأطير قوية لتشكيل الآراء العامة والفردية حول تعاطي المخدرات (أو أي فئة أخرى). عندما نغير لغتنا إلى تعليقات غير وصمة ، يمكننا البدء في تغيير رأي الجمهور والأفراد ، مما يساعد على تقليل الحواجز التي يواجهها الأشخاص عند بدء طريقهم إلى التعافي من خلال العلاج أو الاستمرار فيه.

مراجع
  1. Wogen، J.، & Restrepo، MT (2020 ، يونيو). حقوق الإنسان ، وصمة العار ، وتعاطي المخدرات. مجلة الصحة وحقوق الإنسان. تم الاسترجاع في 21 سبتمبر 2021 من https://www.hhrjournal.org/2020/06/human-rights-stigma-and-substance-use/.

2. العلاج بمساعدة الأدوية (MAT). SAMHSA. (2021 ، 16 سبتمبر). تم الاسترجاع في 21 سبتمبر 2021 من https://www.samhsa.gov/medication-assisted-treatment.

Ending the Stigma and Why it is Important

What is Stigma?

Stigma creates the belief that certain personal characteristics or people are bad, dangerous, or weak and invalidates the person’s experiences. Stigma preserves stereotypes, prejudice, and discrimination which can impact a person’s mental health, and in turn, their path to recovery (1).

Four types of Stigma

Public Stigma

When the public holds discriminatory and prejudicial beliefs towards a specific group of people—people with substance use disorder. Public stigma creates barriers for people, preventing them from accessing housing, food, education, employment (1).

Structural Stigma

The policies and the actions of institutions limit the opportunities of groups experiencing stigma. Limitations of opportunities, or rights, can be intentional or unintentional (1).

Self-Stigma

When a person from a stigmatized group internalizes the stereotype or prejudice that is spread by the public or institutions. Self-stigma can prevent a person from seeking health care services and may cause a person to hide their diagnosis out of shame or embarrassment, which can lead to isolation and a lack of social support (1).

Multiple stigma

When a person experiences stigma from more than one category above. It also important to recognize that with substance use disorder, people also face stigma through other identities they hold (houselessness, poverty, mental illness, etc.). All of these can compound to worsen health consequences and need to be recognized (1).

Why Does Stigma Matter?

Stigma creates barriers that affect a person’s treatment and recovery. Stigma can impact all realms of treatment, including (1):

  • accessing treatment
  • choice of treatment type
  • maintaining treatment.

People may avoid receiving a diagnosis of substance use disorder to prevent themselves from experiencing public stigma (1).

Stigma can also prevent a person from choosing the best treatment option for them.

Medication- assisted treatment is a highly recommended form of treatment for substance use disorder (2). People who choose medication-assisted treatment attend counseling sessions and take methadone or buprenorphine. Methadone and buprenorphine are medications that reduce cravings for opioids and help with withdrawal symptoms. This helps people to stay in treatment (2). There is stigma surrounding the use of medication to aid in the recovery of opioid use disorder (OUD) regardless of its proven effectiveness. This stigma prevents patients from receiving the best treatment option for them.

Language Matters

Language is a powerful framing tool to shape the public and individual opinions of substance use (or any other category). When we change our language to non-stigmatizing comments then we can begin to change the opinion of the public and individuals, which helps decrease barriers people experience when beginning or continuing their road to recovery through treatment.

References
  1. Wogen, J., & Restrepo, M. T. (2020, June). Human rights, stigma, and substance use. Health and Human Rights Journal. Retrieved September 21, 2021, from https://www.hhrjournal.org/2020/06/human-rights-stigma-and-substance-use/.

2. Medication-assisted treatment (MAT). SAMHSA. (2021, September 16). Retrieved September 21, 2021, from https://www.samhsa.gov/medication-assisted-treatment.